Skip to main content

About Us

The Physicians Committee combines the clout and expertise of more than 17,000 physicians with the dedicated actions of nearly one million members and supporters worldwide. 

The Physicians Committee is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, headquartered in Washington, DC. Our efforts are dramatically changing the way doctors treat chronic diseases such as diabetes, heart disease, obesity, and cancer. By putting prevention over pills, doctors are empowering their patients to take control of their own health.

And we are also building a new way of viewing research. Since 1985, the Physicians Committee has worked tirelessly for alternatives to the use of animals in medical education and research and for more effective scientific methods.

Our staff of physicians, dietitians, and scientists is working with policymakers, industry, the medical community, the media, and the public to create a better future for people and animals.


The Physicians Committee is dedicated to saving and improving human and animal lives through plant-based diets and ethical and effective scientific research.


Creating a healthier world in which health and compassion are central values in science and medicine.

About Us

Senior Staff

Neal Barnard, MD, FACC 

Dania DePas, MA
Vice President of Communications

Stacey Glaeser, SPHR
Senior Vice President of Human Resources

Stephen Kane, CPA
Senior Vice President of Finance

Mark Kennedy, Esq.
Senior Vice President of Legal Affairs

Betsy Wason, CFRE 
Senior Vice President of Development

Our Nutrition and Preventive Medicine Experts

Hana Kahleova, MD, PhD

Director of Clinical Research

Zeeshan Ali, PhD

Kickstart India Program Specialist

Jia Xu, PhD

Nutrition Specialist

Anna Herby, DHSc, RD, CDCES

Nutrition Education Specialist

Stephanie McBurnett, RDN

Nutrition Educator

Noah Praamsma, MS, RDN

Nutrition Education Coordinator

Our Science and Research Experts

Elizabeth Baker, Esq.

Director of Research Policy

John Pippin, MD, FACC

Director of Academic Affairs

Charu Chandrasekera, PhD

Director of Laboratory Science

Janine McCarthy, MPH

Science Policy Program Manager

Ann Lam, PhD

Medical Research Program Director

Catharine E. Krebs, PhD

Medical Research Specialist

Eryn Slankster-Schmierer, PhD

Regulatory Testing Specialist

Emily Anderson, MS

Policy Advocate

Our Legal Issues Experts

Mark Kennedy, Esq.

Senior Vice President of Legal Affairs

Deborah Dubow Press, Esq.

Associate General Counsel

Ugo Nwadike, Esq.

Associate General Counsel

Support our work. Become a member.