Skip to main content

Food for Life: Diabetes Initiative

33.624304, -111.9302237


Zoom Online
Main Street
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
United States


Class Dates

DOUBLE class! Class 5: Using the Glycemic Index AND Class 6: Keeping a Healthy Heart
Saturday, August 21, 2021 10am Pacific, 12pm Central, 1pm Eastern to 12pm Pacific, 2pm Central, 3pm Eastern

2 for 1 DOUBLE class

Class 5: Using the Glycemic Index

We have all heard that white bread is bad, and whole wheat bread is better, but do you know why? You may have also heard that people with diabetes should avoid pasta and fruit. That nutrition myth and others will be explored. By learning a few simple rules, you’ll be an expert in choosing foods that will hold your blood sugar levels steady and give you the nutrition you need for good health. Learn to prepare some dishes that are energizing and that will never leave you with a blood-sugar spike and crash after your meal.

Class 6: Keeping a Healthy Heart

Heart disease is the leading cause of death in people who have diabetes. Fortunately, the same change in diet that has been shown to be so effective in turning diabetes around also helps to protect the heart, quite dramatically. Dean Ornish, M.D., was among the first to show that a change in lifestyle could be as effective as and much safer than bypass surgery for those with significant heart disease. There is no time like the present to eat to live. Fortunately, food that is good for you does not have to taste like medicine. In this class, you’ll watch the demo of cholesterol-free foods that are full of flavor and health-promoting benefits.

520-200-1781

Register Online

Your instructor: Tammy Robertson