Skip to main content

Food for Life: Diabetes Initiative

33.624304, -111.9302237


Zoom Online
Main Street
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
United States


Class Dates

DOUBLE class! Class 1: How Foods Fight Diabetes AND Class 2: The Power of Your Plate and Grocery Cart
Saturday, August 7, 2021 10am Pacific, 12pm Central, 1pm Eastern to 12pm Pacific, 2pm Central, 3pm Eastern

2 for 1 DOUBLE class

Class 1: How Foods Fight Diabetes

The road to diabetes does not have to be a one-way street. There is reason for hope! People who eat plant-based meals are less likely to ever develop diabetes, and for those who have diabetes, plant-based meals can help to improve blood sugar levels and prevent complications. These meals are affordable and can be quite delicious and satisfying. A low-fat, plant-based approach offers a new tool that many have found to be very useful. Review the latest science behind this approach, consider some simple ideas for getting started, sample four dishes, and explore useful resources.

Class 2: The Power of Your Plate and Grocery Cart

Let’s get practical. This class provides the knowledge and resources for trying out a new way of eating. By using the tools provided, participants often experience better blood sugar levels, weight loss if needed, and other health benefits within a surprisingly short time. The Power Plate is a diagram that illustrates the essential food groups: vegetables, whole grains, legumes, and fruits. From these groups, you will be assisted to create your own Weekly Meal Planner and learn how to navigate the grocery store to find the treasures (and avoid the troublemakers!) We’ll discuss common concerns, including how to prevent and treat low blood sugar for those taking certain medications, and how to ease your transition into a filling, high-fiber way of eating. See some of the staples that you’ll want to bring home from your grocery store.

520-200-1781

Register Online

Your instructor: Tammy Robertson