Skip to main content

Support our lifesaving work. Make a donation to the Physicians Committee today. | Donate Now

Food for Life: Cancer Project

33.628241, -111.927257


Zoom Online
Online
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
United States


Class Dates

Favoring Fiber and Maintaining a Healthy Weight
Saturday, October 31, 2020 9 am-11am Pacific, 11 am-1pm Central, 12 pm-2pm Eastern to

Class 5

Favoring Fiber: Fiber helps your body rid itself of toxins, waste hormones, excess cholesterol, chemicals, and other un-desirables. Without fiber in the diet, these excess compounds can get reabsorbed into the bloodstream, leading to a possible increased risk of cancer growth. Additionally, fiber is especially important in helping the immune system function properly, as well as facilitating the removal of waste from the body. Building your diet from fiber-rich plant foods is important for cancer prevention and survival as well as overall health. In this class, enjoy a fiber-rich meal as you work toward your goal of 40 grams of fiber per day

Maintaining a Healthy Weight: Healthy weight control is essential for warding off a variety of chronic diseases. Studies have shown that slimmer people are even less likely to develop cancer, compared with their heavier counterparts. In addition, trimming excess weight may also improve survival after cancer has been diagnosed. This part of class will discuss and demonstrate fiber and nutrient-rich dishes that will help you maintain a healthy weight.

520-200-1781 or email cookingontheveg@gmail.com

Register Online

Your instructor: Tammy Robertson