Skip to main content

Support our lifesaving work. Make a donation to the Physicians Committee today. | Donate Now

Food for Life: Cancer Project

33.628241, -111.927257


Zoom Online
Online
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
United States


Class Dates

ENCORE! Breast Cancer and Prostate Cancer Survival and Prevention
Saturday, October 24, 2020 9 am-11 am Pacific, 11 am-1pm Central, 12 pm-2pm Eastern to

Class 4

Foods and Breast Cancer Survival: This class looks at the research behind increased prevention and survival rates for those individuals diagnosed with breast cancer. Factors discussed include reduced fat intake, increased consumption of vegetables and fruits for a greater fiber intake, and exercise. In the lecture, Dr. Neal Barnard highlights various studies like the Women’s Healthy Eating and Living (WHEL) Study, which reported greater protec-tion from breast cancer when women consumed at least five vegetable and fruit servings daily.

Foods and Prostate Cancer Survival: In this part of class, discussion and lecture topics focus on the research demonstrating how a plant-based diet prevents and increases survival rates after a prostate cancer diagnosis. Dr. Neal Barnard touches upon the research linking dairy product consumption to prostate cancer risk. Certain components of fruits and vegetables, like lycopene, have also proved beneficial for prostate cancer prevention and for reducing prostate cancer risk.

Phone 520-200-1781 or email cookingontheveg@gmail.com

Register Online

Your instructor: Tammy Robertson