Skip to main content

Universal Meals: Food Everyone Can Enjoy

Guidelines for Universal Meals

Universal Meals include

  • Vegetables
  • Fruits
  • Legumes
  • Non-gluten grains
  • Flavorings

Universal Meals exclude

  • Animal-derived ingredients
  • Gluten-containing grains (wheat, barley, rye, triticale, and contaminated grains)
  • Common allergens (peanuts, tree nuts, soy, mustard, sesame, celery, lupin, and sulphites)
  • Alcohol

In practice, Universal Meals are

  • Hygienic. Meals are prepared with attention to hygiene and cleanliness, including thorough rinsing of vegetables. 
  • Appealing to people with a variety of dietary needs and traditions, and containing no offensive ingredients (e.g., “a little meat stock,” “a trace of peanuts,” etc.).
  • Familiar, using tried and true foods that have long been popular (e.g., breakfast oats, hummus, rice pilaf, etc.).
  • Flexible, so as to be enhanced as desired (e.g., garlic hummus with roasted red peppers, rice pilaf with asparagus, bean tacos with salsa Mexicana), provided any added ingredients fit within the guidelines. 
  • Adaptable for institutional settings (e.g., schools, airlines).
  • Short-term-focused and not necessarily intended as complete or optimal nutrition for extended periods. For example, recipes need not be low-sodium, nutritionally complete, vitamin B12-fortified, etc.

Use of Universal Meals Name and Logo

It is easy to use Universal Meals at your business or institution. Contact us to receive full access to everything you need.

Upon registration, you may use the Universal Meals name and logo, provided meals adhere to the Universal Meals guidelines regarding included and omitted ingredients. We suggest the following text for use in menus or tabletop notices:

More people than ever are changing the way they eat—for health reasons, environmental or humane concerns, religious observances, or other motivations. We are pleased to offer Universal Meals—delicious meals that contain no animal-derived ingredients, gluten, alcohol, or common allergens (dairy, egg, peanuts, tree nuts, soy, mustard, sesame, celery, lupin, and sulphites). You’ll find them marked with the Universal Meals logo.