Skip to main content

Food for Life: Diabetes Initiative

33.624304, -111.9302237


Zoom Online
1234 Main Street
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
United States


Class Dates

Introduction To How Foods Fight Diabetes AND The Power of Your Plate and Grocery Cart
Saturday, November 6, 2021 10 am Pacific, 2 pm Central, 3 pm Eastern to 12pm Pacific, 2pm Central, 3pm Eastern

A DOUBLE 2 for 1 class!

Class 1: How Foods Fight Diabetes 

The road to diabetes does not have to be a one-way street. There is reason for hope! People who eat plant-based  meals are less likely to ever develop diabetes, and for those who have diabetes, plant-based meals can help to  improve blood sugar levels and prevent complications. These meals are affordable and can be quite delicious and  satisfying. A low, fat, plant-based approach offers a new tool that many have found to be very useful. Review the  latest science behind this approach, consider some simple ideas for getting started, sample four dishes, and explore  useful resources. 

Class 2: The Power of Your Plate and Grocery Cart 

Let’s get practical. This class provides the knowledge and resources for trying out a new way of eating. By using the  tools provided, participants often experience better blood sugar levels, weight loss if needed, and other health  benefits within a surprisingly short time. The Power Plate is a diagram that illustrates the essential food groups:  vegetables, whole grains, legumes, and fruits. From these groups, you will be assisted to create your own Weekly  Meal Planner and learn how to navigate the grocery store to find the treasures (and avoid the troublemakers!). We’ll  discuss common concerns, including how to prevent and treat low blood sugar for those taking certain medications,  and how to ease your transition into a filling, high-fiber way of eating. 


 

520-200-1781

Register Online

Your instructor: Tammy Robertson